In the United States, there are approximately 140,000 immigrant visas available every year. With the right work experience and education, you can live permanently in the United States.

The United States Citizenship and Immigration Services explains that some visa categories may require a labor certification or that you already have a job offer.

There are five employment-based visa preference categories.

First Preference

The first preference is for those who have astonishing abilities in their industry. These individuals do not need a labor certification. This category refers to researchers, professor and multinational managers or executives.

Second Preference

While second preference visas require a labor certification, there are waivers for national interest. This category is for employees who have advanced degrees. If a person does not have an advanced degree, he or she may still qualify with an extraordinary ability in the arts, sciences or business industries.

Third Preference

This preference does require a labor certification. It is for professionals and skilled workers in several different industries. These employees do not require an advanced degree or exceptional abilities.

Fourth Preference

The fourth preference is for special immigrants. This visa preference does not require a labor certification but is only for those who may be religious employees, retired employees of international organizations, U.S. foreign service post employees or children who are wards in the United States.

Fifth Preference

The fifth preference does not require a labor certification. This is a preference for business investors who invest 1.8 million dollars into a commercial enterprise that also employs U.S. workers. These companies must have at least 10 full-time U.S. employees.